Martin Library

Martin Library Honors

York County Libraries’ Honors Events highlight prominent library supporters and community members. Learn more about York County Libraries’ Honors events here. Martin Library has hosted Honors events since 1995.

Martin Library Honors Pamela Gunter-Smith

The Martin Library Honors Committee selected Pamela Gunter-Smith as its 2023 Spring Honoree. Pamela has served the York community in a variety of roles over the years, and will be recognized in an honors ceremony at Martin Library on April 19, 2023 at 5:00pm. To make a contribution in honor of Pamela or register to attend, please click here.

About Pamela Gunter-Smith, Ph.D.

Pamela Gunter-Smith began serving as president of York College on July 1, 2013. She previously served as Drew University’s provost and academic vice president and as the Porter Professor of Physiology at Spelman College. Gunter-Smith has also held academic appointments at the George Washington University (Washington, D.C.) and the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (Bethesda, Maryland). For 12 years before joining Spelman, Gunter-Smith was a research scientist and science administrator at the Armed Forces Radiobiology Research Institute in Bethesda, Maryland.

Currently, she is president of the William Townsend Porter Foundation, serves on the Central Region Board of Directors of WellSpan, the York County Industrial Development Authority, the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Pennsylvania Board (AICUP) and the Board of Directors of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU). She is a member of the Better York Executive Committee, and the Pennsylvania State Board of Education.

Gunter-Smith holds a B.S. in Biology from Spelman College and a Ph.D. in Physiology from Emory University. She conducted postdoctoral studies at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. She has published in the areas of gastrointestinal physiology and membrane ion transport and is the recipient of grants to support science education and her research.

During her tenure at York College, Gunter-Smith has advanced programs that serve the greater York community and provide high impact engagement and learning for the College’s students. She is married to J. Lawrence (J.L.) Smith, a native of St. Louis, Missouri. J.L. retired in 2015 as a systems administrator for I.B.M. The Smiths are parents of two sons, Lealand of Nashville, Tenn., and Philip of Baltimore, MD.

Attending the Event

Pamela will be honored at Martin Library on April 19 at 5:00pm and the event is open for the public to attend. Please register to attend the event by April 3 by clicking here.

Tribute Gifts

A key component of the Martin Honors event is to establish a perpetual fund to purchase books in the name of the honoree. Contributions are welcome anytime by donating securely online or by mail to:

Martin Library Honors Fund
159 East Market Street
York, PA 17401


Martin Library Prior Honorees

If the year of the Honoree’s event is highlighted blue, click the link to view the program from the event.



  • Bill Shipley, 2020, Event Recording
  • Georg Sheets, 2019
  • Paula Gilbert, 2019
  • C. Kim Bracey, 2018
  • Jean Treuthart and Stephen Baker, 2018
  • Jody Keller, 2017
  • Michael E. Kochenour, 2017
  • William H. Schell, 2016
  • Larry J. Miller, 2015
  • Gordon A. Freireich, 2015
  • George Trout Sr., 2014
  • Trish Calvani, 2013
  • Bill Simpson Memorial, 2013
  • Loren H. Kroh, 2012
  • Dan and Brenda Elby, 2012
  • Harvey & Win Bradley, 2011


  • The Presidents of the Board since 1935, 2010
  • Don Dellinger, Jr., 2010
  • Judge Emanuel Cassimatis, 2009
  • Frances E. Keller, 2008
  • Luther and Ruth Sowers, 2008
  • Lynne Pfafflin Danyo, 2007
  • George D. Stough, 2007
  • Zoë Meisenhelder, 2006
  • Lavere Senft, 2005
  • Dorrie Leader, 2004
  • Harry McLaughlin, 2004
  • Mary G. Stephenson, 2003
  • William A. Falkler, 2003
  • Edith Allen Barber, 2002
  • Ruthe Fortenbaugh Craley, 2002
  • Walt Partymiller, 2001
  • R. Claire Frank, 2000


  • Elaine Kirschner Laucks, 1999
  • C. William Dize, 1998
  • Helen Klinedinst, 1998
  • William H. Kain, 1997
  • Otis B. Morse IV, 1997
  • Anna Kauffman Strayer, 1997
  • May M. Hart, 1997
  • Jennifer Paup, 1995

Martin Library Honors Committee

  • Robert Cox, Chair 
  • Lynne Danyo
  • Liz Dellinger
  • Brenda Elby
  • Anika Jackson
  • Robert F. Lambert
  • Donna Pullo
  • Becky Sanstead
  • Lori Rene Weyant